Gator Head Campground

National forest / federal in Ochopee, Collier County, Florida

Aerial view of Gator Head Campground
Aerial near the address
USDA NAIP via USGS

National forest / federal with 9 sites

Ochopee, Collier County, Florida

From the park's website, Oct 2026

Not yet confirmed by phone. Details can change, so check with the park before you go.

9 sites
Seasonal

Not stated; Recreation.gov fee seasons run Aug 15 - Jun 1.

Pick your exact site online

Source: Official website

Book online

Through Recreation.gov

Nine-site primitive backcountry campground in the Bear Island Unit of Big Cypress National Preserve, reached only by permitted off-road vehicle, foot or bicycle. RVs and trailers are not allowed (pickup campers and tents only), there is no water, and sites are $10 a night on Recreation.gov.

What stands out

  • Backcountry campground in Big Cypress National Preserve, 9 sites
  • No RVs or trailers: pickup campers and tents only
  • Access only by permitted off-road vehicle (gate combo), foot or bicycle
  • $10 a night; vault toilets, no water
  • No pets allowed

Sites

Standard nonelectric backcountry site

Hookups
No hookups
Power
Not listed
Pull-through
Not listed
Max length
Not listed
Pad
Not listed
Number of sites
9
Nightly
$10

What this place offers

  • Hiking trails

What this place offers

  • Hiking trails
  • Vault toilets (accessible)
  • Picnic tables
  • Fire rings
  • Shared food storage
  • Off-road vehicle trails

Things to know

Rig rules

  • No RV age limit listed

Pets

  • No pets
  • No pets are allowed in the backcountry.

Arrival

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Not stated; Recreation.gov fee seasons run Aug 15 - Jun 1.

Included in the rate: Preserve rule: max 6 people per site.

Other fees: No cash; pay online on Recreation.gov. Daily camping fee charged for each day gear is left at the site. ORV permit $100 per vehicle per year.

Good to know

From the park's own website and other official pages. Policies change, so confirm with the park.

Location and directions

  • About 20 miles up Turner River Road to a check station; a gate combo is given only to holders of a valid ORV permit at the permit office (239-631-9988).

Rig rules

  • No trailers or RVs allowed; pickup camper and tent camping only.

Rules

  • Backcountry permit required for all campers; print the self-issued permit ahead of time.
  • Backcountry camping limited to 30 days total per year.
  • Quiet hours 10 pm-6 am; generators off at 10 pm.

Amenities and services

  • No fresh water available.

Activities and nearby

  • Bear Island Unit has 20+ miles of backcountry trails; Everglades City about 30 miles south.

On Google

Rating, reviews and photos from the park's Google listing.

Read reviews on Google

Where you'll be

Turner River Road, Ochopee, FL, 34141

Directions

Where this info comes from

  • recreation.gov Overview, access, gate combo, 9 sites, no RVs/trailers, fee, notices, directions, contacts
  • home.nps.gov Reservations required, backcountry rules, stay limits, gear fee
  • nps.gov ORV permit fee
  • Florida Department of Health mobile home and RV park license list
  • OpenStreetMap

More places nearby

Is this your park?

Fix anything that's wrong, add photos or keep your rates current. It's free, and every park gets the same placement rules. If you'd rather not be listed, we'll take it down.

Want more direct bookings? See what we offer park owners