Big Scrub Campground

National forest / federal in Umatilla, Marion County, Florida

Aerial view of Big Scrub Campground
Aerial near the address
USDA NAIP via USGS

National forest / federal with 46 sites

Pets welcome

From the park's website, Oct 2026

Not yet confirmed by phone. Details can change, so check with the park before you go.

46 sites
Rigs up to 40 ft
Seasonal

Forest Service page shows 'Site Open' but also says 'This site is seasonally closed'; season dates not stated. Gates 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Pick your exact site online

Source: Recreation.gov

Book online

Through Recreation.gov

Forest Service campground in the Big Scrub of the south-central Ocala National Forest, popular with off-highway vehicle riders for its direct trail access to the 47-mile Ocala OHV trail. About 46 no-hookup sites at $20 (36 for tents/RVs up to 40 ft, mostly pull-through gravel, plus 10 tent-only), with showers, flush toilets and a 14-day limit.

What stands out

  • Campsite-to-trail access to the 47-mile Ocala OHV trail system
  • Mostly pull-through gravel sites up to 40 ft
  • No hookups; $20/night
  • Showers and flush toilets
  • Short drive to Alexander Springs

Sites

Standard Nonelectric (tent, RV, trailer)

Hookups
No hookups
Power
Not listed
Pull-through
Not listed
Max length
40 ft
Pad
Gravel
Number of sites
36
Nightly
$20

Tent Only Nonelectric

Hookups
No hookups
Power
Not listed
Pull-through
Not listed
Max length
Not listed
Pad
Gravel
Number of sites
10
Nightly
$20

What this place offers

  • Bathhouse
  • Showers
  • Hiking trails

What this place offers

  • Bathhouse
  • Showers
  • Hiking trails
  • Flush toilets
  • Drinking water (see problems)
  • Picnic tables
  • Campground host
  • OHV trailhead with campsite-to-trail access to the 47-mile Ocala Centennial (Adventure) Trail

Things to know

Rig rules

  • No RV age limit listed
  • Rigs up to 40 ft

Pets

  • Pets allowed
  • Forest Service pages for other Ocala NF campgrounds state: all Ocala National Forest campgrounds allow pets on a leash no longer than 6 ft, not in designated swimming and picnic areas. Big Scrub pages do not state a pet rule themselves.

Arrival

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Forest Service page shows 'Site Open' but also says 'This site is seasonally closed'; season dates not stated. Gates 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Cancellation: For reservations or refund requests call (877) 444-6777.

Included in the rate: Max 6 people per site; camping fee covers 2 vehicles maximum.

Other fees: OHV trail use requires a pass/permit (sticker). Recreation.gov fee note mentions 'Sites A and B = Full Hook up = $22 per night', but no such sites appear in the site list.

Good to know

From the park's own website and other official pages. Policies change, so confirm with the park.

Location and directions

  • From I-75 take SR 40 east to Forest Road 588, then south about 8 miles; campground is on the west side of the road.
  • Address: 11990 SE National Forest Rd 588, Umatilla, FL 32784.

Rules

  • 14-day stay limit in a 30-day period in all Ocala National Forest campgrounds.
  • Main entrance gate open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • OHV riders under 16 must wear a DOT-approved helmet and eye protection and pass an online course.
  • OHV operators must carry proof of registration/ownership, a valid sticker, and photo ID if 16 or older.
  • RV or trailer rentals may not be delivered or pre-placed by a third party; the reservation holder must drive the rig in.
  • Copy of OHV and camping regulations available from the camp host.

Activities and nearby

  • Direct campsite-to-trail access to the 47-mile Ocala OHV trail and the Tread Lightly Four Wheel Drive Way; permit required.
  • Alexander Springs (swimming, canoeing, diving in a spring-fed lake) is a short drive away.

On Google

Rating, reviews and photos from the park's Google listing.

Read reviews on Google

Where you'll be

11990 SE NATIONALFOREST RD 588, Umatilla, FL, 32784

Directions

Where this info comes from

  • recreation.gov Overview, facilities, notices, OHV rules, directions, address, site list and details, rates
  • fs.usda.gov Site count, amenities, OHV info, hours, fee, season note
  • Florida Department of Health mobile home and RV park license list
  • OpenStreetMap

More places nearby

Is this your park?

Fix anything that's wrong, add photos or keep your rates current. It's free, and every park gets the same placement rules. If you'd rather not be listed, we'll take it down.

Want more direct bookings? See what we offer park owners